On the night of the commemoration of its tenth anniversary, the Valor Econômico newspaper was not the only one to be honored. Eight businessmen received the award Valor Especial (Special Value) for outstanding business management in the last decade from President Lula.

Mr. Décio da Silva, President of the WEG Board of Directors, who has been awarded the Executivo de Valor (Executive of Value) for five consecutive years, was one of the people honored at the event.

“More than being happy to be awarded in such a special manner, I am happy to see that WEG’s goals continue to be pursued. Proof of this is that Harry Schmelzer Junior, the current president of the company, has received two Executivo de Valor awards in his two year mandate”, says Décio da Silva, President of the WEG Board of Directors.

The event held on 13 April brought together businessmen and politicians. Among the present were President Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva, Dilma Rousseff, ex-minister and Worker’s Party candidate for president, Sérgio Cabral, governor of the state of Rio de Janeiro, Guido Mantega of the Ministry of Finance and Miguel Jorge of the Ministry of Development, Industry and Foreign Trade and Henrique Meirelles, president of Banco Central.

Luiz Frias, president of Grupo Folha and João Roberto Marinho, vice president of Organizações Globo were also present. Among the eight businessmen awarded was also Wilson Ferreira Junior, president of CPFL and now member of the WEG Board of Directors appointed in the board meeting held on 27 April.

List of people awarded at the event:

Décio da Silva (WEG)

Roger Agnelli (Vale)

Roberto Setubal (Itaú Unibanco)

Jorge Gerdau (Gerdau)

Marcio Utsch (Alpargatas)

Antonio Maciel Neto (Suzano)

Wilson Ferreira Júnior (CPFL)

José Carlos Grubisich (ETH).